A Life in Images: Through Our Eyes

These are photographs taken by me and my husband.

fullsizerender-12
Boston, MA

“Time as we know it was created by man.”

-Me

“One luminary clock against the sky
Proclaimed the time was neither wrong nor right.”

-Robert Frost

“The first thing necessary for a constructive dealing with time is to learn to live in the reality of the present moment. For psychologically speaking, this present moment is all we have.”

-Rollo May

img_1520
Crossing the George Washington Bridge at night. NYC

“Faith—is the Pierless Bridge
Supporting what We see
Unto the Scene that We do not—
Too slender for the eye
It bears the Soul as bold
As it were rocked in Steel
With Arms of Steel at either side—
It joins—behind the Veil
To what, could We presume
The Bridge would cease to be
To Our far, vacillating Feet
A first Necessity.”

-Emily Dickinson

img_2299
View of the Connecticut River from the top of a mountain in Massachusetts

“I had been afraid of the awful presence of the river, which was the soul of the river, but through her  I learned that my spirit shared in the spirit of all things.”

-Rudolfo Anaya

“Have you also learned that secret from the river; that there is no such thing as time?” That the river is everywhere at the same time, at the source and at the mouth, at the waterfall, at the ferry, at the current, in the ocean and in the mountains, everywhere and that the present only exists for it, not the shadow of the past nor the shadow of the future.”

-Hermann Hesse

img_2088
Stairs in Massachusetts

“The past has brought me to this place, but does not define me.

The present is this place, and defines me only for a moment.
The future is mine to define.”
-Taken from one of my husbands Facebook posts
241
Joshua Tree, CA
In the desert
I saw a creature, naked, bestial,
Who, squatting upon the ground,
Held his heart in his hands,
And ate of it.
I said, “Is it good, friend?”
“It is bitter—bitter,” he answered;
“But I like it
“Because it is bitter,
“And because it is my heart.”
-Stephen Crane
212
Joshua Tree, CA

“I live in the desert.

The vultures scream above me flapping wings, blizzard of feathers, revolting in the bleak sky.

The dry heat envelops,  wraps its arms around me, rocking and quieting me.

Sunlight blinding. Atop white hot rocky formations, the heart is barren.

I see a tree, my face etched into her naked branches. Her skeleton bent toward the sun as the lizard scurries up her spine.

I live in the desert.

There is life here.”

-Me

img_2350
Hana, Maui

“His heart crashed into mine, and a wave was formed. Rippling into the infinite grey universe.”

-Me

img_2374
Halloween on the boardwalk. Pacific Beach, CA

“Reflection in jest. Dressed in threads of whimsy. Painted mask shaded from the sun, but melting all the same.”

-Me

img_2359
Rainbow over vehicle in Maui

“First he surrendered

Then he slept

I sit here waiting

The engine on, purring with urgency

A rainbow arching above me”

-Me

img_2335
Me and my chihuahua Sky on my wedding day CA

“Then I felt adored by many. It is enough right now to be truly and unconditionally adored by a single being. ”

-Me

946
Bridge in Tulum, Mexico

“It is only fear that keeps me from crossing.”

-Me

1135
Beach cruiser my husband fixed up for me in San Diego, CA

“I was hit by a car once on my bike, but I still rode home.”

-Amy Winehouse

img_2086
Hike in Massachusetts

“The branch hangs low

It bears no fruit

Its pine needles jagged, aromatic

The light refracted

I squint, my vision blurred

The branch hangs low

It bears no fruit”

-Me

img_2334
Taken by my husband in Las Vegas, NV

“I have learned silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant, and kindness from the unkind; yet, strange, I am ungrateful to those teachers.”

-Khalil Gibran

“We must take sides. Neutrality helps the oppressor, never the victim. Silence encourages the tormentor, never the tormented.”

-Elie Wiesel

img_1393
Sunlight and Sky (my dog) San Diego, CA

“If you can sit quietly after difficult news…

If in a financial downturn you remain perfectly calm…

If you see your neighbors travel to favorite places without a tinge of jealousy…

If you can happily eat whatever is put on your plate…

If you can love everyone around you unconditionally…

If you can always find contentment just where you are…

You are probably…

A dog.”

-Unknown (found on everydaygurus.com)

img_2336
Our wedding day CA

“I love you as certain dark things are to be loved,
in secret, between the shadow and the soul.”

-Pablo Neruda

“I miss you-I miss us”

-My husband

One thought on “A Life in Images: Through Our Eyes

Leave a Reply

